The Orcas Island Historical Museums is inviting the community to Crow Valley School for an open house on Sunday, Aug. 25, from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
This is your chance to step back into an authentic one-room schoolhouse! There will be docent tours and light refreshments. This is a free community event sponsored by the Orcas Island Historical Museums.
The Crow Valley School was built in 1888, one year before the Territory of Washington was admitted to the Union as the State of Washington. It was closed in 1918, after which students attended the Eastsound school. The building continued to be used as a community meeting place, including use as a church and a Sunday School. In 1929, the school was purchased by a women’s club, many of whom were former students. Then in 1987, the school house was put on the National Register of Historic Places and later restored by Richard Schneider and Bud McBride who ultimately donated it to the Orcas Island Historical Society.