Voters approve hospital district

  • Wed Apr 25th, 2018 10:10am
  • News

The creation of the Orcas Public Hospital District was approved by 1,451 votes to 435 or 76.94 percent to 23.06 percent. The commissioners elected to the hospital district board are Diane Boteler, Richard Fralick, Pegi Groundwater, Art Lange and Patricia Miller.

Voters approved the creation of San Juan County’s third hospital district, which will include all of Orcas Island and other nearby islands including Big Double Island, Little Double Island, Victim Island, Skull Island, Indian Island, Twin Rocks, Oak Island and Picnic Island.

The election appointed five commissioners to the district’s board and each elected member will serve staggered terms. The commissioner with the most votes will serve the longest initial term while successors will be elected to serve full terms at future district elections.

Elected commissioners will adopt a budget for the district, which will include setting the property tax levy, which could be a maximum of 75 cents per $1,000 of assessed property value.