Stewardship Network announces annual awards

Submitted by Amy Nesler.

Congratulations to this year’s 2021 Good Steward Award (aka “Finnie”) Winners: Luke Fincher, Maya Heikkinen, Ty Greacen, Michael Noonan, and Pebble Cove Farm!

The youth winners are Luke Fincher, Maya Heikkinen, and Ty Greacen, for dedicating multiple years to YCC starting in middle school and graduating through the program to Jr. Crew Leader positions. They are true lifelong stewards, dedicated to environmental stewardship, youth engagement, and community collaboration. They embody the ethics and mission of this program and exemplify what it means to be a good steward.

Winner Michael Noonan was nominated by the San Juan Preservation Trust for countless hours helping SJPT, the Land Bank, the Trails Committee, the Home Trust, etc. in filming and editing environmental education videos.

Winner Pebble Cove Farm was nominated by the San Juan Islands Visitors Bureau for its commitment to sustainability. Owners John and Lydia Miller make environmental responsibility and sustainability a top priority because it’s important to them to preserve the beauty of Orcas Island, their guests’ health, and our natural resources.

The Stewardship Network is a coalition of private and public organizations whose vision is a healthy, thriving ecosystem in the San Juan Archipelago from land to sea. Since 2008, the Stewardship Network has honored special individuals, families, teachers, students, and businesses who have demonstrated through their actions a long-term commitment to preserving the land and sea of the San Juan Islands archipelago in their daily lives. Many nominations for the Good Stewards awards were received, making the choices for these awards pleasantly difficult.

Want to keep up-to-date with the Stewardship Network? Check out our website or our Facebook page here: