Orcas Island Library.

Architectural firm wins award for Orcas Library expansion

  • Sun Nov 15th, 2020 1:30am
  • News

Submitted by HKP Architects

HKP Architects in Mt. Vernon, Washington is thrilled to announce that their firm received three of the six Merit Awards given out in this year’s American Institute of Architects Northwest Section Design Awards. Jurors included renowned accessibility expert Karen Braitmayer, construction representative Susan McCants, and artist representative Linda Smeins.

The three HKP projects that were awarded at the virtual event include the Lake Cavanaugh Residence Addition, the Orcas Island Public Library Expansion and the Swinomish Indian Tribal Community Dental Clinic Expansion.

The Orcas Island Library Expansion is also a project where HKP Architects revisited a Henry Klein classic original. The expansion added another 6,000 square feet to the iconic and much-loved library in Eastsound. The challenge was to double the size of the original as a natural extension of the interior and the exterior. The design team used the connection point of old and new to form the transition between quieter and noisier library activities while providing a central check-out and supervision hub, and modeled the existing interior natural light levels to recreate them in the new space.

The jury was “struck by the successful siting of the addition to create a new main entry and drive court for the library as well as interior spaces that provide for a range of loud to quiet environments in the new larger library. The existing library entry became the connection to the public meeting room that allows after-hours use. The design of the new reading room referencing the soaring ceiling and structure of the original is lovely and continues the expression of structure as well as the use of natural daylight. It is a graceful expansion that appears to have grown organically from the original.”

A link to the AIA NW Design Awards website post can be found at https://aiaseattle.org/2020-nww-design-awards-winners-announced/.