Economic Recovery and Resiliency project moves forward

  • Tue Nov 17th, 2020 1:30am
  • Life
Contributed photo

Submitted by the Orcas Island Community Foundation

The Orcas Economic Recovery and Resiliency project continues. This fall and winter, we will move into a new phase of the effort, focused on the key areas identified during this past summers’ conversations. Those areas are outlined in the progress report which can be accessed at www.resilientorcas.com. Thank you to Lisa Fossen and John Vechey for the good work formatting and to Haley Cruz Winchell and Griselda Cruz Gonzalez for the translation en espanol. This project has been funded by the Orcas Island Community Foundation and the Community Emergency Response Fund.

Over the next month work groups will form and gather (virtually) to set goals and develop plans to prioritize ideas and move these bullet points into reality. If there is an area that interests you, please join one of the six interest groups by emailing the contact(s) listed below.

Inclusion and Anti-Racism– Kevin Carter (kevin@kacartergroup.com) , Berto Gandera (bertogandara@gmail.com) and Maddie Olsen (maddieo1122@gmail.com)

Diversify Local Economy and Increase Autonomy– Kevin Ranker (kevinr@kevinranker.com) and Jared Lovejoy (jaredlovejoy@mac.com)

Homes for All– Lisa Byers (opalclt@opalclt.org) and Cory Harrington (charrington154@gmail.com)— (First meeting—Monday, Nov. 23rd from noon to 1 p.m. Contact Lisa or Cory for zoom link)

Health and Well-Being– Holly Southern (holly@orcascrc.org) and Erin O’Dell (erin@orcascrc.org)

Support for Children and Families– Brian Moss (brian@orcaschurch.org) and Haley Cruz Winchell (hcruzwinchell@seattleymca.org)

Community Care-Holly Southern (holly@orcascrc.org)

Meeting times and updates will be posted on the website. Working together as a community is key to making Orcas more resilient.