Thanks and appreciation from OICMF | Letter to the Editor

On behalf of the board and staff of the Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival, we would like to thank everyone who made our 24th Season possible, safe, and glorious!

We would like to start by thanking both the performing artists and our dedicated audience, in-person and online. Thank you for allowing us to make music for you! We are also indebted to our sponsors. Your gifts keep us going and we appreciate each and every one of you.

We’d like to thank Orcas Center Executive Director Dimitri Stankevitch. He has been a help in so many ways. Our collaboration with Orcas Center made our live streams possible, giving those around the island and around the country an opportunity to see our concerts. Thank you to Jake Perrine, Orcas Center’s Artistic Director, who brilliantly headed that effort as Livestream Operator and Lighting Designer. Also thanks to Bethany Marie who helped tremendously with this year’s unique ticketing challenges.

We are forever grateful to the OICMF Robert Henigson Board Designated Fund for making it possible for us to provide our live streams at no charge. Thanks too, to the rest of the livestream crew, Video Director Adam Stern and Sound Engineer (and board member) Roger Sherman.

We had a smaller but still mighty volunteer core – to the flower arrangers, house managers, dawn patrol, stage crew, kitchen workers, treat providers, photographers, and ushers, a big thank you.

As you know, Orcas Island has been overrun this summer and many businesses are not fully staffed, so we’re grateful for all the local restaurants which provided sustenance for the performing (yet not starving!) artists.

We would like to acknowledge Ray’s Pharmacy for their help in keeping us safe, as well as Dr. James and Nurse Alex from the SJ County Health Department for working with us to ensure our protocols met and exceeded their requirements. Thank you to all artists and crew who took their daily tests and screenings with such aplomb.

We had an amazing concert on Lopez Island, and thank coordinator (and board member) Micki Ryan and her amazing team who made that possible.

Finally, to our amazing OICMF board of directors, staff, and Artistic Leadership — thank you all for keeping the music playing!

Aloysia Friedmann

Founder and Artistic Director

Sam Coleman

President, OICMF Board of Directors

Anita Orne

Executive Director