Lopez Island sports squads win scholar-athlete awards

  • Wed Jun 18th, 2008 1:47am
  • Sports

Lopez Island High School Athletic Director Larry Berg said recently, “This was quite a year – winning league championships in football, volleyball, boys basketball, girls golf, and boys track; going to the State playoffs in volleyball, boys basketball, girls track, boys track, and girls golf; winning the District 1 special sportsmanship award girls basketball; and being the State Academic Champions in girls golf with special academic awards for boys golf, boys track, and girls track.”


With a 2007 record of 7 Wins 3 Losses, the football team was the Northern Sky League “B-8” Football Champions

The All Opponent Football First Team Selections for that league were Jordan Smith, Shaun Samuel, Leland Nopson and Orrin Burt.


In Volleyball, the Lady Lobos were the 2007 Northwest B League Champions, the Bi District Champions and played in the State Tournament with a record of 16 Wins 3 Losses.

The All Opponent Volleyball Selections for the NW B League were: Most Valuable Player: Lisa Vaughn; First team: Lisa Vaughn, Adayla Buchanan, and April Holland; Second Team: Emily PostVanderBurg; and All State – Lisa Vaughn.


The Soccer team won second place in the 2007 Northwest “B” League with a 5 win, 8 loss record. Leo Castrejon was named the League Most Valuable Player. Catrejon was also named to the 1st Team, along with Jordan Haber, Tahoma Wrubleski, and Ben Strom. Honorable Mention was awarded to Sam Barr.


In Girls Basketball, with an 8 10 record, the varsity girl’s basketball team received the Northwest Girls Basketball Officials Association’s Mal Walton Sportsmanship Award. The Lopez girls were the top vote-getter in all classifications 4A, 3A, 2A, 1A, 2B, 1B with over 2,000 votes cast to determine the winner.

The NWB Girls Basketball All-League Team named Lisa Vaughn and Larissa Berg to their 2007-2008 Second Team.

The Boys’ Basketball team won the 2008 Northwest “B” League Championship, placed third in the Bi-Districts and played in the State Tournament with an 18-4 record.

Jordan Smith was named the NWB Boys Basketball All-League Team Most Valuable Player, and was also named to the First Team. Coach Brad Smith was named the Coach of the Year.


The Girls’ Golf Team was named the 2008 Girls Northwest “B” League Champions; they placed second in the Quad Districts, and, with a Team grade point average of 3.59, were named the Girls’ Team “WIAA Academic State Champions 2008.”

The Boys Team also won the “WIAA Outstanding Scholastic Award,” with a team GPA of 3.57.


The Boys’ Track team were the 2008 Northwest “B” League Champions, the Bi-District Champions, second-place finishers at State, and won the 2008 Boys’ Team “WIAA Distinguished Scholastic Award” with a Team GPA of 3.47.

State Boys

individual awards:

100 meters

5th Jordan Smith

6th Keaton Farris

200 meters

7th Keaton Farris

400 meters

2nd Terrell Carter

5th Sabastian Lasbo

800 meters

3rd Sabastian Lasbo

6th Terrell Carter

1600 meters

7th Billy PostvanderBurg

3200 meters

8th Ben Strom

110 hurdles

4th Jordan Haber

5th Sam Barr

300 hurdles

4th Jordan Haber

6th Sam Barr

4×100 relay

1st Lasbo, Farris,

Smith, Carter


3rd Carter, Lasbo,

Lawrence, Farris

Triple Jump

4th Ben Strom

High Jump

2nd Jordan Smith

The Girls’ Track team placed third in the 2008 Bi-District meet, and 8th place at the State meet. They also won the

“WIAA Distinguished Scholastic Award” with a Team GPA of 3.44.

State Girls

individual awards:

400 meters

7th Ruthie DeGraaf

1600 meters

6th Ellen Fisher

3200 meters

5th Ellen Fisher

7th Lindsey Cummins

300 hurdles

7th Erin Wilbur

4×100 relay

4th DeGraaf, DeGraaf,

Vaughn, Wilbur

Triple Jump

6th Laura Strom

High Jump

1st Laura Strom