Celebrate Earth Day at the Great Islands Clean-Up

  • Sun Apr 15th, 2018 1:30am
  • News

Hundreds of volunteers throughout the San Juan Islands will gather on Sunday, April, 22 to celebrate Earth Day and participate in the Great Islands Clean-Up. In its 5th year, the Great Islands Clean-Up is an annual one-day, county-wide event where volunteers collect litter from public beaches and roads.

Last year, over 2,500 pounds of litter was collected on Orcas, with 153 pounds diverted to recycling. Volunteers covered over 100 miles of combined road and beach area on Orcas, Shaw, Lopez and San Juan Islands.

“This important event wouldn’t happen without great organizers and the incredible volunteers that show up for this every year,” said San Juan County Councilman Rick Hughes. “I am always so proud of the way our community is committed to keeping the islands beautiful.”

Bags, grabbers, safety vests and latex gloves will be available to all volunteers the day of the event on Orcas, Lopez and Shaw. San Juan Island volunteers can pick up items at the San Juan County Public Works office on Spring Street during the week before the event. The festivities will commence at 10 a.m. and conclude at 2 p.m. on all islands.

Check the Great Islands Clean-Up Facebook page for regular updates or contact a specific island organizer for more information. If you choose to coordinate your own group, please let the island organizer know what area you are covering.

Lopez Island organizers: Nikyta Palmisani (roadside) nikytap@lopezsolidwaste.org; Nick Teague (beach) at gteague@blm.gov.

Shaw Island organizer: Stephanie Buffum at stephanie@sanjuans.org.

San Juan Island organizers: Catherine Kenney (roadside) at ckenney@islandersbank.com; Jana Marks (beach) at jana@sanjuans.org.

Orcas Island organizer: Pete Moe pete@exchangeorcas.org. Orcas volunteers will meet at the Stage on the Green at 10 a.m. and are encouraged to head to Island Hoppin’ Brewery at 4 p.m. for a complimentary beer.