Mandatory Boating Safety class
April 20, 2009 · 9:09 PM
The Washington State Parks approved boating course is being offered by the San Juan County Sheriff’s Office Marine Patrol Unit at the Eastsound Fire Department meeting room on May 2 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The NASBLA approved course covers the general aspects of boating, Washington State law and boating safety. Topics include recommended boating equipment, the marine environment, trip planning, boat operations, personal watercraft and emergency preparedness. The class is free and includes materials.
Upon completion of the course, boaters may receive the necessary Boaters Education Card by filling out a state parks’ application, attaching a copy of their course certificate and paying a $10 application fee.
As of Jan. 1, 2008 boaters 12 years of age and above in Washington State are required to have taken a National Association of State Boating Law Administrator and Washington State approved boating education course to operate a boat with a motor over 15 horse power. In 2009, this requirement applies to persons under 25 years of age with additional implementation being phased in over the next several years.
The course is limited to 20 people and preregistration is required by contacting Deputy Herb Crowe at 378-4151 or by email email@example.com.