Islands' Sounder


New design for the Exchange

June 13, 2013 · 12:23 PM

During the time period of June 2 to June 9, 28 Orcas Islanders met with the intention of reaching a consensus on a design for the new buildings to house the Exchange. This group, some members of which did not attend all sessions, deliberated for a total of 14 hours.

Much of the time was spent grappling with overall traffic flow and circulation issues in relation to the locations of various elements spread over the site...the tipping floor, the scales, the “ZEE” wall, the attendant’s station...as well as the sequences involved in the entire solid waste disposal, recycling, and reuse process. For the new Exchange, this flow and circulation will determine the locations for a receiving area for items being dropped off, parking, public entry, etc.

For the Exchange itself, two buildings are proposed; one for household items and the other for building and construction materials. Our understanding is that under the terms of the agreement between SJC Public Works and Orcas Recycling Services, all items must be stored underroof in structures which can be permitted under our local building code. The group discussed a number of key issues central to the future building(s):

- The project should include as large a roof area that could be afforded in the near  term with potential for expansion.

- Below this roof should be a strategy for flexible expansion of heated or enclosed  spaces.
- The building should be able to incorporate solar PV and water catchment.
- Studies of grades should be incorporated to understand the benefits and costs of  an East West vs a North South building.


The group decided to continue its deliberations on Tuesday, June 18, 6:30 p.m. at the Firehall with an open invitation to newcomers, and to defer making a full report on its activities until the ORS Board meeting on Wednesday, June 26.

Participants in this community design process thus far are:


David Kau, Janet Alderton, Donna Delong, Lisa Byers, Michael Riordan,  Mark Mayer,  Ellen Edwardsen, John Campbell, Ken Henriques, Fred Klein, Betty Bartleson, Wendy Shinstine, Lin McNulty, George Post,  Harvey Rossiter,  Zackarya Leck, Michael Greenberg, Susan Malins, Chuck Greening, Diane Baxter, Kim Skarda, Larry Coddington, Laurie Gallo, James Hahne, Errol Speed, Mark DeTray, Pete Moe, Kevin Sloan


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us